• Sinhala (Sri Lanka)
  • தமிழ் (இந்தியா)

inner slider


Hon. Minister of Petroleum Resources Development Arjuna Ranatunga stated that they pay more attention to use trains to distribute Oil Island wide. He further stressed out that distribution of fuel by trains will be cheaper than distribution through Fuel truck. They are taking steps to make Provincial Fuel storage terminals extend. Minister added that they have planned to extend Kandy- Peradeniya Fuel storage terminal as their first step. Minister made this review during his inspection visit to Central Province provincial branch of Ceylon Petroleum Corporation (CPC) in Peradeniya.

During his inspection visit Minister discussed the issues faced by workers and he stated that they are already omitted the unnecessary expenses of CPC.

“It will be more profitable to transport fuel by trains to Kandy. I took over this institution to make profits during the development process. On the other hand, it’s difficult for CPC to make profits because it’s giving more relief to customers. First of all, we should try to reduce the loss. We already reduced the expenditure of CPC which doesn’t effect to the privileges of workers. Even I was functioning as Minister of port and shipping I operated this principle. We would be able to make 11 Billion as profits during 2 years by omitting unnecessary expenses when we were in the Ministry of Ports. We understood the reality that unnecessary expenses were made by superiors, but not the workers. We have omitted unnecessary expenses from the Ministerial post and Chairmanship. Once again I assure not to reduce the privileges giving to workers. Workers should be responsible and dedicate to save this institution” Minister added further.




 - Media Unit - Minister Office


Current Local Fuel Prices





Petrol 92 Octane : Rs. 450.00 Per Litre

Petrol 95 Octane : Rs. 540.00 Per Litre

Auto Diesel : Rs. 440.00 Per Litre

Lanka Super Diesel : Rs. 510.00 Per Litre

Lanka Industrial Kerosene : 399.00

Kerosene : Rs 87.00 Per Litre


Source : Ceylon Petroleum Corporation